White blindness

Books and blogs to learn more about our racial divide

Philando Castile’s death two weeks ago forced me to see how little I knew.

I was blind. White blind. I was ignorant about the racial divides, the racism, where I live. I thought the deaths of Michael Brown, Tamir Rice, Walter Scott, Freddie Gray, Sandra Bland, Samuel Dubose, and Alton Sterling were tragedies that happened somewhere else. Not here.

Now I know. We are Ferguson and Cleveland and Baltimore and Baton Rouge. We are a place where a cop can fatally shoot a black man because he is black. I don’t want another Philando Castile to die because people like me are white blind.

So here’s what I’m reading and following, to see what I should have known years ago:

A Good Time for the Truth: Race in Minnesota, Sun Yung Shin, ed.

Showing Up for Racial Justice Minnesota

Black Lives Matter Minneapolis

Black Lives Matter Saint Paul

Good Black News

March, a graphic novel trilogy, by John Lewis, Andrew Aydin, and Nate Powell

Behind the Blue Line

Diverse World Coaching

Beyond the Glass Wall

Movement for Black Lives

Georgetown University Professor Marcia Chatelain created the #FergusonSyllabus, a crowd-sharing syllabus on Twitter. Here’s her Atlantic article: How to Teach Kids About What’s Happening in Ferguson

Sociologists for Justice #Ferguson Syllabus

What is Whiteness?

Pulled Over: How Police Stops Define Race and Citizenship  Charles Epp, Stephen Maynard, and Donald Haider (I just bought it, and haven’t started it yet.)

Now it’s time for some reading. I hope you’ll share your ideas of what to read and follow.

Author: katehavelin

Whether I'm walking trails or exploring favorite places from my home in Saint Paul to New York, Paris, or Hong Kong, travel keeps me moving forward through life. I've written two trail guides for adults and sixteen nonfiction books for young people, along with dozens of magazine articles and essays.

1 thought on “White blindness”

Leave a Reply

